Skip to Content
MortarDesk
← All Guides

Roofing And Flashing

What the 2026 DensDeck Pricing Notices Actually Confirm

A signed notice covers three roof boards shipped on or after October 12 but discloses no rate; reported May and June figures do not establish it.

Errol Nakamura Published September 15, 2026 7 Min Read

GP Gypsum has scheduled a U.S. price increase for DensDeck, DensDeck Prime, and DensDeck StormX Prime roof boards shipped on or after October 12, 2026. DensDeck ProFast Prime pricing is unchanged under this specific action. The signed GP Gypsum notice does not disclose a percentage, dollar increase, revised unit price, or SKU-level rate. Separate May and June reports cite other amounts and effective dates, but they do not establish the rate for the October increase.

The October 2026 DensDeck increase at a glance

A GP Gypsum notice dated August 12, 2026, schedules higher pricing for three products:

  • DensDeck Roof Board
  • DensDeck Prime Roof Board
  • DensDeck StormX Prime Roof Board

The change applies to covered products shipped to U.S. locations on or after October 12, 2026. Pricing for DensDeck ProFast Prime Roof Board “is not being modified at this time.” That makes ProFast Prime unchanged under the October action, not permanently exempt from later pricing changes. The notice is signed by Eric Jungslager, General Manager–DensDeck at GP Gypsum LLC.

The notice provides no:

  • Percentage or dollar increase
  • Revised unit or sheet price
  • SKU-level rate
  • Breakdown by thickness, dimensions, or configuration

There is therefore no supported numerical answer to “How much is the October DensDeck price increase?” A buyer needs a current quotation or product-specific price sheet from the supplying distributor or account manager.

As of September 16, 2026, the action has been announced but has not yet reached its October 12 effective date. The controlling document is a manufacturer-signed notice hosted on a distributor’s website, rather than a notice published on Georgia-Pacific’s domain. ABC Supply Interiors also lists it in its 2026 manufacturer pricing-update index, corroborating the October effective date without supplying a rate.

2026 timeline: three notices that should not be combined

The available 2026 information points to three potentially separate pricing actions. The dates, stated amounts, product descriptions, timing rules, and source strength differ.

Effective date Reported scope and source strength Stated amount Pricing trigger
May 18, 2026 DensDeck, DensDeck Prime, and DensDeck StormX Prime; third-party industry report (Nip Impressions) 2.5%–3.5% Products shipped on or after May 18
June 1, 2026 Georgia-Pacific “Roof Boards”; distributor report that does not expressly name DensDeck (Shoemaker Drywall Supplies) Up to 11% The distributor page states an effective date but does not specify whether it applies to orders, shipments, or invoices
October 12, 2026 DensDeck, DensDeck Prime, and DensDeck StormX Prime for U.S. locations; signed GP Gypsum notice hosted by a distributor Not disclosed Shipments on or after October 12

For May 18, Nip Impressions reported a 2.5% to 3.5% increase affecting the three named DensDeck product groups. It said orders containing affected products and shipped on or after that date would be invoiced at the new pricing level. The report does not assign either end of the range to a particular product, thickness, size, or configuration. It is third-party industry reporting and does not provide an accessible manufacturer notice as the transaction document.

For June 1, Shoemaker Drywall Supplies listed an increase of up to 11% for Georgia-Pacific “Roof Boards.” The page does not expressly name DensDeck, identify individual products or SKUs, or explain whether the effective date is based on ordering, shipping, or invoicing. “Up to 11%” is a maximum, not evidence that every covered roof board increased by exactly 11%.

For October 12, the signed GP Gypsum notice provides the clearest product scope and timing rule, but no percentage. Neither the May range nor the June maximum can therefore be inserted into the October notice.

The reports may represent separate pricing actions, but the cited material does not establish how they overlap, whether one replaced another, or what any customer ultimately paid. Estimators should keep the three dates separate in procurement records rather than merge them into one annual DensDeck rate.

Affected and unchanged products

The signed GP Gypsum notice dated August 12 draws a specific line between three affected variants and one product whose price is unchanged at that time.

DensDeck variant October 2026 status What the notice establishes
DensDeck Affected Higher pricing for covered U.S. shipments on or after October 12
DensDeck Prime Affected Higher pricing for covered U.S. shipments on or after October 12
DensDeck StormX Prime Affected Higher pricing for covered U.S. shipments on or after October 12
DensDeck ProFast Prime Unchanged under this notice Pricing is not being modified at that time

Georgia-Pacific identifies all four products as variants in its glass-mat gypsum roof-board line. The October notice, however, does not identify affected thicknesses, sheet dimensions, configurations, edge details, or individual SKUs. A family name by itself is not enough to calculate a revised material total; the quoted item must be matched to the supplier’s updated pricing.

ProFast Prime’s status must also remain notice-specific. Its express unchanged status applies to the October action. The May report does not name ProFast Prime, while the June distributor page uses only the general category “Roof Boards.” Neither source establishes whether ProFast Prime was included in or excluded from those separate actions.

Shipment date is the key October pricing trigger

The October notice bases the change on shipment date, not purchase-order date. October 12 should not be described as an order deadline, and issuing an order before that date does not by itself guarantee the earlier price.

Product and timing Treatment under the October notice
Covered product shipped before October 12 Outside the stated effective window
Covered product ordered before October 12 but shipped on or after that date Within the stated effective window
Covered product ordered and shipped on or after October 12 Within the stated effective window
DensDeck ProFast Prime Unchanged under this specific notice

These timing treatments come from the signed August 12 GP Gypsum notice. The notice does not describe those arrangements.

Before relying on the earlier price, confirm three items in writing:

  1. Scheduled shipment date: When will the supplier treat the material as shipped?
  2. Quote expiration: Will the quotation remain valid through that date?
  3. Price protection: Does the agreement preserve the quoted price if shipment occurs on or after October 12?

This distinction matters for delayed and phased deliveries. A purchase order issued in September could enter the revised-pricing window if the covered boards ship on October 12 or later. Conversely, the notice does not place a shipment made before October 12 within that window merely because the invoice is processed afterward.

How to check the budget impact without assuming a rate

No defensible October cost-per-sheet, cost-per-square-foot, or project-cost calculation can be produced from the notice because the increase amount is undisclosed. A usable estimate must begin with the exact transaction details rather than a percentage borrowed from another report.

Record the following for every quoted line item:

  • Exact DensDeck product name
  • Manufacturer SKU or distributor item number
  • Thickness, dimensions, and configuration
  • Delivery location
  • Scheduled shipment date
  • Current quoted unit price
  • Quote-expiration date
  • Separately stated freight or other charges
  • Written project-pricing or contract protection

Once the supplier confirms the applicable rate, use the neutral calculation:

Revised material cost = applicable quoted cost × (1 + supplier-confirmed increase expressed as a decimal)

This is only a calculation method. It is not evidence that a particular percentage applies.

Do not insert the May range of 2.5% to 3.5% or the June maximum of 11% into an October estimate unless the distributor or account manager confirms that the figure governs the exact product and transaction.

Request a current written quotation or price sheet and verify:

  • The October percentage or dollar adjustment
  • Covered SKUs and configurations
  • The effective date of the revised price sheet
  • Treatment of existing quotes, bids, and contracts
  • Treatment of split or delayed shipments
  • Applicability outside the United States

For U.S. shipments, the practical purchasing takeaway is that October 12—not the purchase-order date—is the controlling date in the signed GP Gypsum notice. Identify the exact DensDeck variant, confirm its scheduled shipment date, and obtain written product-specific pricing instead of applying the percentages reported for May or June.

What is DensDeck roof board used for?

DensDeck is a line of glass-mat gypsum roof boards used as cover boards under single-ply and other low-slope roofing systems. The line includes DensDeck, DensDeck Prime, DensDeck StormX Prime, and DensDeck ProFast Prime, according to Georgia-Pacific’s DensDeck product overview. Product selection and system compatibility should be checked against the project specification and applicable roofing-system requirements.

Does the October 2026 notice apply outside the United States?

The notice expressly applies to shipments to U.S. locations. It does not establish pricing treatment for Canada or any other market. Buyers outside the United States should obtain the applicable regional notice or current written pricing from their supplier rather than extending the U.S. terms by assumption.

Keep Exploring

The Next Material.

Browse All Guides ↗
New Guides From MortarDesk

Unsubscribe anytime.

Search MortarDesk